Starting a dead engine…

July 18, 2007 § Leave a comment

It’s funny what you come across when you do a vanity search.

I had completely forgotten that I started this blog a couple of years ago when I worked in North East ISD. I stopped blogging because I feared (a little) for my job, and because I suppose I became assimilated to the culture in the district.

Now, my father told me long ago not to burn any bridges, and that’s certainly not what I’m trying to do here. I’m simply going to explain why I left NEISD and moved to my new district in Schertz, which I like very much, thank you.

Northeast is awash in politics, as most school district are. If you’ve ever worked in a very large school district, you know that politics play more into things than they ever should. Sure, sure, we talk about how it’s all for the kids, blah, blah, blah, but the truth of the matter is that at the end of the day it’s about how the community perceives you as a district.

In San Antonio, it’s especially hard to work in a large school district because we have overzealous tabloid style news stations here that pick up the smallest of missteps and blow them all out of proportion. A big joke at a lot of meetings was that we didn’t want the “Troublemakers” showing up with their cameras in tow.

Because there’s so much politics, there’s a lot of bureaucracy, which means you have to ask 17 people just to take a leak. If you go back and look at some of my previous posts, you can see my frustration with the “system” building. I stopped blogging about it because I figured that I wasn’t ever going to beat the system and that the mantra about bringing in new ideas from outside the district was just lip service. I’m sure the person who told me that had very good intentions, but that person was working from within the system and couldn’t do anything to change it. The forces were just too strong.

The district I moved to has a much more open policy about listening to its employees. The superintendent here knows my name, and I’ve already participated in one meeting with her to propose changes to our Ed Tech program. Being able to work both the top and bottom of the ladder has some huge advantages. I have the ability now to take suggestions from the teachers directly to the top. I am an integral part of the decision making process around here, and it feels good to know that ideas and suggestions aren’t immediately pooh-pooed and put on a back burner until someone above me decides they might be a good idea because they read about it in a respected journal.

Is there still politics? You bet there is, and as this district grows, it will continue to get worse. It’s just nice to be in on the ground floor with people who think and believe in the same kinds of things educationally that I do.

And maybe I’ll start blogging here a bit more.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Starting a dead engine… at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

