Who knew?

October 2, 2007 § 2 Comments


So I’m checking out the Grapes of Wrath Google Lit Trip, and decide to see if I can find out how they got all those pictures in the description of each placemark in Google Earth.

google earth 1

I find a placemark, right click, go to properties and – you mean, it’s that easy?! Seriously?!

google earth 3

google earth 4

google earth 5

OK, so I’m sure it’s old news to a lot of you that you can put HTML in placemark descriptions, but for me, this was a huge revelation! Imagine the kind of stuff you can do with this, like….well, like Google Lit Trips! So if your teachers don’t know HTML, here’s a great opportunity to learn the basics of coding. You don’t need to know much – bold, italic, underline, font size, img, a href and you could make a killer presentation in Google Earth.

Awesome! Guess what I’m working on this afternoon?!

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Who knew?

  • Jerome Burg says:

    Hey Scott,
    I’m the man behind the curtain at GoogleLitTrips. I like your blog entry. There’s really no magic. But, I’ve discovered even more tricks to use with html in GE popups.

    I can’t attach a kmz file to this message, but check out the “large” flag popups on this Home Ec project some of our students did.

    You’ll have to go to the site and download the kmz I guess.
    (sorry about the long URL)

    http://web.mac.com/ghsinfo/iWeb/CAFS/International%20Cuisine.html

  • Scott says:

    Awesome! I love the site, by the way…it’s always cool to see what other people are doing with Google Earth! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Who knew? at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

