FYI

October 10, 2007 § 1 Comment

OK, I’ll admit I’m a geek. But I’m not a socially inept geek, I’m one of the good ones, who will recognize that you are certainly smart enough to figure out how to use the mouse on your own. I won’t explain things in terms that are over your head because I hate when people do that to me. I’ll explain it in simple terms that you can understand without being condescending and treating you like you’re in kindergarten.

I’ll also gladly and politely attempt to help you with any technology problem you may have, and I’ll readily admit when I don’t know the answer, but you can be sure that I’ll probably go back to my desk and Google it, while letting you get back to work knowing that I’m going to do my best to solve your problem. Sometimes I can help, sometimes I’ll direct you to the person who can help, but I’ll always try.

Unless…

Unless you are the kind of person who is not kind and polite in return. Unless you are the kind of person who thinks that my sole job in life is to be at your beck and call. Unless you are the kind of person who will ask me to do something for you but not give me a reason why you need it done…and because you usually need it done yesterday, you’re already pissed off that someone didn’t just automatically read your mind and know that you needed it done for this piece of software that you’re using that nobody in my department knows about in the first place, so you’re short with me, and don’t say please and thank you. Unless you expect me to do your job for you, which I’m not about to do because I have a job of my own, and while my job is to help you do your job, I’m not about to do your lesson plans for you because isn’t that what you get paid to do? I get paid to help you find technology that plugs into your lessons, that can make teaching easier for you and more exciting for your students, so stop expecting me to do your job and I won’t ask you to do mine.

And yes, I am dragging my feet on your particular problem because of those very reasons.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to FYI

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading FYI at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

