Feeling better about not participating

October 29, 2007 § 2 Comments

So I’ve tackled RSS now, and have found that it’s a lot easier to check my blogs.  Of course, it doesn’t take as much time as it used to, so now I have more time to do other things, like checking out Twitter.

It seems like the “in” thing that all the cool kids are talking about, and I just don’t get it.  I signed up for an account and picked some folks to follow, but you know what?  I just don’t care.  I don’t care to find out every little thing these people are doing,  and why in the world would you want to know, unless it was your best friend or wife or someone close that you’re missing because you’re far away.

I just didn’t get it, and now, I feel better about not getting it after reading Doug’s post.  At least I’m not the only one.

To carry on with Doug’s theme of not caring about things, I stopped caring about pop music a long time ago too.  I started listening to country music when I first moved to Texas, and the modern country songs seem to have a lot of the story telling qualities that the pop songs of the past used to have.

As for podcasts, I do subscribe to a few, including the morning show from Chicago that we used to listen to when we lived there because, quite frankly, the morning drive in San Antonio is about as crappy as they get.  I also subscribe to A Prairie Home Companion podcast, which I’m happy that they’re now releasing.  I used to love listening to it with my parents when I was younger, and now I can enjoy it on my morning drive.  There are only two other podcasts that I listen to in my car – Coverville, which is, in my opinion, very entertaining because it’s music, and a lot of the times the music I grew up with, covered by other bands, which is always fun.  The last one I subscribe to is Real Time with Bill Maher because my wife doesn’t like him, so I don’t watch him when he’s on.

I’ve found some good educational podcasts, but I just don’t have as much time to listen as I do to read, so I listen to a couple of them when I get a chance, but not that often.

I guess it’s all about what you’re doing in your own practice.  I’m trying to pull teachers into web 2.0 stuff, but it’s still in it’s infancy, so doing the things which are easy to explain their educational merit is what I focus on.  I would love to podcast myself, but for the moment, the state tests don’t focus on speaking, they focus on reading an writing, and blogging lends itself to that.

Maybe some of our educational pioneers will show us the way with twitter and the like, and how they can benefit education, but until I can get more people into the present, I don’t think it’s worth my time to mess with it.  Is that a bad attitude to have?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Feeling better about not participating

  • Doug Noon says:

    I enjoy being around the people with bad attitudes. Nice to know there’s others, and there’s lots of work opportunity.

  • Nancy says:

    I agree with you and Doug, when I first heard about Twitter I said to myself, “oh pleeze!”. I feel the same way about Second Life, why would I go to all the trouble to design curriculum for virtual kids when it’s enough work to plan for real kids. I’ve commented about these things often–my real concern is a lot of the tech people never mention content, academic rigor, etc. It’s all about the technology! Finished blathering.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Feeling better about not participating at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

