Moving on over

January 14, 2008 § Leave a comment

Back in October, I decided to try out Google Reader and Pageflakes.  I had “discovered” Pageflakes first, so I was partial to it, willing to give it a chance versus the mighty Google.

Alas, Google has slayed yet another product.  I have to say it, Google Reader is a much better, much more consistent experience.

I really wanted to give Pageflakes the benefit of the doubt, but in the end, it was blocking software and the clunky interface that did it in.

At first, I thought it was beautiful.  All of my blogs in little windows.  Click and it takes you to the post.

That was the fatal flaw.

First of all, when I started collecting too many blogs, I had to scroll to see all of them.  Then, if someone added a picture to their entry, it would push them down so the look of the page was never the same.

But it was the clicking.  One day, I went to click on a post, and up came our block notification.  Of course, it’s a fun blog that I probably shouldn’t have been reading at work anyway, but it frustrated me…especially since the blog had been open for so long before that.  Anyway, I decided to put the feed in my Google Reader to see if it would pick it up, and sure enough, the entire post came through.

So I started moving everything into Google Reader.  It’s so nice to be able to see at a glance when things are updated.  Oh, that reminds me of another problem with Pageflakes.  It’s a little flaky (pun intended) with feeds.  Sometimes I would see an old post at the top of a feed…one that I knew was older than the most recent, and refreshing didn’t solve the problem.  And it wasn’t on just one blog…it effected all of them at one time or another.

So now that my transition is complete, I really have no reason to use Pageflakes anymore.  I have my weather on my desktop, my podcasts in iTunes and my blogs and news in Google Reader.

But there’s the shortcut, still in my toolbar.  I guess I’m just having a hard time letting go.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Moving on over at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

