Nothing to write home about…

February 7, 2008 § Leave a comment

I’m currently sitting in a conference room at the Austin Convention Center waiting for a concurrent session to start.  It’s the first one I’ve really been excited about at TCEA this year.

Of course, like every conference I’ve ever been to, another session that I really wanted to attend is taking place at exactly the same time in the room next door.   I’m just hoping I picked the right session to attend, because titles and descriptions don’t always tell you the whole story of what a presentation will be.

I spent a large part of the day yesterday wandering the exhibit floor, and maybe it’s that I’ve attended enough of these conventions to know better, or maybe it’s the fact that I walk quickly through so as not to get hounded by the carnies sales people, but I just didn’t see anything that blew me away.  Nothing new.  Nothing revolutionary.

In fact, it seemed to me like everyone was copying one of two companies: eInstruction, or SMART.  Everyone and their brother is selling some sort of interactive white board, or a student response system, or a combination of both.

Most of the software is geared toward TAKS and is the same  sorry drill and kill stuff that’s been around for years.

Even the session are getting stale.  There are entirely too many sessions on blogging and podcasting.  They’re what’s in, and since I already know how to do both, it eliminates about 1/4 of the sessions for me.

Maybe I’m just getting grumpy in my old age, but if this is how NECC is going to be this summer, I’d rather just stay home, even though it’s in San Antonio this year, and would be really easy for me to get to.

Bah humbug.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nothing to write home about… at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

