Professional decisions

May 2, 2008 § Leave a comment

It’s been a difficult week for me professionally.  I had to make a decision about where I wanted to go with my career, but that career is also effected by my family and financial concerns.

At the end of it all, I decided to stay put, and not move into a more prominent role in a smaller district.  As I said, it was a very difficult decision for me, but I know I made the right decision.

I’ve only been working in my current district for 18 months, and there’s still a lot of work to do here.

Proof of that was my meeting with the secondary curriculum director yesterday, which turned into a meeting with all of our curriculum folks, which ended up turning into an audience with the Superintendent.

The meeting was about whether we should do a pilot of online coursework, and it was very well received.  I was well prepared with my research and plan of implementation, and the go-ahead was given to start using Moodle to allow our students to continue their classroom discussions beyond the classroom.

I’m excited to see where this will eventually lead.  Everyone in the meeting was excited about the possibilities further down the road, and for once, I was the one pulling back on the reins trying to keep the meeting focused on the here and now, and how we were going to implement the pilot.

It’s going to be a fun summer!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Professional decisions at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

