Deciding not to participate

June 17, 2008 § 1 Comment

NECC is generating a lot of buzz around here, particularly because it’s right here in San Antonio this year. The last time it was here, I flew down from Chicago to attend.

I enjoyed going to NECC the three years that I was in Chicago because I was new at this gig and had a lot to learn. Now, I feel like the tech conferences don’t offer me much that’s new at all.

In fact, I think most of the sessions will be about things I read about online on a daily basis.

I understand the need of some to get together in person and discuss these things, but in the big picture, it’s not helping my teachers for me to go because none of them are being offered the opportunity (and they should be) and I have family things that I’d rather be doing with my time off.

There is a general sentiment around here that it would be a waste not to go, and yet, no one is jumping at the opportunity.  I think we’re all kind of tired of the same old, same old.

After my disappointment with TCEA this year, I just didn’t feel the need for my school district to spend money for me to attend something that wasn’t going to be productive for me.  I felt that it might be more of a waste for me to go, rather than not go.

Now, that’s putting the cart before the horse a bit, but I’ve been looking at the schedule online and nothing really jumped out at me as being something I needed to learn. Besides, with all the folks I read on a regular basis going to the conference, I can just learn through them.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Deciding not to participate

  • Tim Holt says:

    You were correct: NECC was TCEA version 2.
    I really think we need to reevaluate the methodology of delivering the message of these conferences. Is NECC a trade show? Is it an educational event? Is it a networking event? Can it be all things to all people? I think the more you try to be, the more you dilute one message or another…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Deciding not to participate at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

