Today, I am encouraged

December 17, 2008 § Leave a comment

It has been a very busy couple of days around here, which beats the alternative.

Each Tuesday, I schedule myself to be on campus at both of our high schools.  I started this little experiment with one of the high schools at the end of the year last year, spending the entire day at the campus, and it was a huge success.  I felt a little bad about scaling back the time I spent there, but I didn’t know how else to be fair and still have time to be in the office.  So this year, I’ve been spending all day on Tuesdays at both campuses, alternating between mornings and afternoons.  Morning at Steele, afternoon at Clemens this week,  morning at Clemens, afternoon at Steele next week, etc.

I send an email out to the campuses each week as a reminder that I’m coming, and this week I added that Tuesdays weren’t the only time I could come to the campus, just the only day I was actually scheduled to be there without having something else to do.

I happened to be at Steele in the afternoon yesterday, but had three teachers with monrning conference periods who wanted to meet, so I set up appointments with them today.

Of the three, one of them is interested in conducting portions of her class online, and another was inquiring about podcasting.

I sat with the teacher who wanted to do online courses and showed her our Moodle system, and how she could set up a course.  She was very excited about it and said she would play with it over the break, and launch it with one of her classes in January.

The teacher that was interested in podcasting is a Spanish teacher and wanted his students to do some things online.  I showed him Gabcast and how easy it was to record an episode over the phone.  He was very excited about it.

Don’t get me wrong, I love helping out the teachers who have a problem with their printer too, but it’s nice to be able to talk about the things I really get excited about and get other people excited and willing to use them in their classrooms too.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Today, I am encouraged at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

