Good on ya, AT & T

March 23, 2009 § Leave a comment

I have to say, I was pretty impressed on Friday.

My best friend was in town and we did a little sight seeing in downtown San Antonio, taking Flat Stanley with us (which I’ll tell you more about in a day or two).

I took my iPod touch with me when we left the car, not because I thought it might get stolen, but because I’d heard there was free wi-fi in Main Plaza and I wanted to see how well it worked.

Unfortunately, we never made it to Main Plaza, but spent most of the afternoon wandering around the Riverwalk and the Alamo.

Just a quick aside here – what in the world was going on in San Antonio on Friday? I have never in my life seen the line to get into the Alamo stretch around the corner!

Anyway, while my friend and I were having lunch on the Riverwalk (outside, I must add…it was a beautiful day), he asked if he could check his schedule on my iPod. I told him I didn’t know if there was wi-fi on the Riverwalk, but with so many businesses around, there had to be an unsecured network somewhere, so I’d give it a shot.

I pull out the iPod, check for signals, and they’re all over the place, but one catches my eye – AT & T Free Metro Wi-Fi. So I give it a shot. Sure enough, my iPod connects.

So I fire up Safari, and wouldn’t you know it – I get one of those welcome screens that says I need an account to access it. Just as my friend is telling me not to worry about it, I start reading. The account is free, you just have to sign up. And of course, you always have the option to pay for a faster connection.

So I go through the sign up process and within a few minutes, we’re surfing the Internet from our table on the Riverwalk. Checking basketball scores, checking email, checking my friend’s schedule for next month to find out when we can do this again.

The only complaint that I have is that it takes a while to do the sign up process on an iPod. I’m sure it goes more quickly on a laptop, but really, who wants to carry a laptop around on the Riverwalk?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good on ya, AT & T at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

