Getting into Twittering (again)

March 26, 2009 § Leave a comment

I decided to try out twitter again. I hear and see so much about it, that I thought I’d see if it was as special as everyone thinks it is.

I’m not usually a quick, early adopter of new technology. It takes me a while to warm up to something that’s a bit out of my normal range, unless it’s so obviously a killer app (Google Earth) or someone demos it for me and shows me some killer ideas that get my brain pumping.

I just couldn’t wrap my head around twitter for such a long time. It seemed like, on the surface, a cross between instant message, the status update on Facebook, and blogging…but very little blogging. Even now, I’m having trouble with it and how to explain it.

I was annoyed that I’d check it in the morning and have so many things to go through. I was annoyed when I started getting the updates on my phone and my phone never stopped buzzing. I was annoyed that there was no easy way for me to keep track of what I had read and what I hadn’t short of putting everything in my RSS feed and, well, see my earlier statement about having too much to go through.

Enter TweetDeck. I had seen a lot of people’s tweets coming from TweetDeck and decided to check it out. It’s nice in that I can keep it open all day and get notified when there’s a new tweet from someone I’m following. It’s a lot like an IM client for twitter. Something you can just leave open and it updates on its own.

The only thing I don’t like is that it looks so much like an IM client that I get annoyed when an @ response goes unanswered. But I’ll get over it.

A lot of what people tweet is crap. A lot doesn’t apply to me, but at least I can “mark all tweets as seen” and not have to worry about it.

So I’m tweeting again. Follow me @slaleman

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Getting into Twittering (again) at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

