Google music player follow up

May 27, 2011 § 1 Comment

My songs are still uploading to Google because one of my wifi routers took a dump overnight. It’s almost done, though, and soon enough I’ll have all of my music in the cloud. Twice (since I uploaded everything to Amazon earlier in the week).

This morning, I deleted all of the music off the SD card in my Nexus One

Getting rid of 7 gigs of music took a lot less time than I thought it would, and I’ll admit, I was a little nervous that I’d have to put it all back on at some point.

After that, I fired up the new Music app on my phone.

Now…which one was it?

Set it up with my account, and adjust any preferences. I left it set to stream over 3G just to see how quickly it would load songs

After my account was set up, voila! All of my music appeared!

And playing songs over 3G only takes a few seconds to buffer…

I apologize for the video quality…

I had mentioned in a tweet earlier this week that I couldn’t adjust the song info in Amazon cloud player, which was frustrating, as I’d uploaded a song that had incorrect album info. In order to correct it, I’d have to delete the file from Amazon Cloud, adjust the album info on my PC, then re-upload the file to Amazon.

(see, nowhere to adjust the song info)

In the Google Music Player online, you can edit the song info

You can even change the album art!

After using both of these products, I’ve decided that I probably won’t use Amazon’s cloud player that much, but I will take advantage of the free storage to back things up, especially any music that I’ve downloaded from them.

Besides the music manager not being exactly what I expected (and that’s a good thing), Google Music is everything I thought it would be. I have to say that I’m really impressed by it, and I’m going to get my wife signed up for it soon, too, so she can stop dragging her iPod and phone with her to the gym, and just use one device for everything.

My only question now is, how much will Google end up charging to use it?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Google music player follow up

  • Paul Alex says:

    Cool…going to have to check it out. Also, great song and band choice…Smashing Pumpkins are in my top 5 favorite bands of all time… Beatles, Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins, From Autumn to Ashes, Soasin.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Google music player follow up at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

