My Google Music “wish list”

May 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

So far, I’m really enjoying Google Music. I love having access to my music anywhere that I have an Internet collection, and since I’m rarely out of range of a wifi or 3G connection, I almost always have access to my music.

I have run across a couple of things that I’d like to add to the Google Music “wish list” since it’s in beta, and hopefully Google is listening. And to be quite honest, these things are really minor in the grand scheme of things.

1) Find album art automatically for songs that don’t have it.

It seems like every music player handles album art differently. Windows Media player actually embeds the art within the mp3 file, whereas iTunes puts it in a separate folder. Now, granted, there should be a standard for this, but until there is, it would be nice if Google’s music player, with the resources of Google behind it, would add album art if it wasn’t properly included from the iTunes upload.

2) Suggest album info for songs that don’t have it, or where it’s incorrect.

With the Shazam smartphone app, there is a database of songs that the app can listen to and return all of the info about the song, including title, artist, album, and album art if it’s available. I’d love to see a Shazam type setting in Google Music that would listen to your music and suggest music info if it isn’t already included, or if it appears to be incorrect.

3) Keep all song info in sync

This is a feature I was really hoping that Google Music would have from the start. If I change song info in iTunes, I’d love if the Music Manager would read that there had been a change (ala Dropbox) and update the file in Google Music. It would be even co0ler if the sync worked both ways, so I could change song info online (especially using a “shazam suggests” as I’ve indicated above) and it would update the info on my computer.

As I continue to use the Google Music player, I’m sure I’ll come up with things that I wished it would do, but these are the three that struck me right off the bat. The people at Google are amazingly brilliant at incorporating smart technology into their products (see priority inbox) and I’m sure that features similar to this aren’t far off. I can’t wait to see what else is added as they go through this beta period.

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Google Music “wish list” at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta