And yet…

December 16, 2016 § Leave a comment

I promised in my previous post that it wouldn’t be another year before I posted again. And it hasn’t. It’s been a year and 10 months. I’ve gone almost 2 years without writing a word in this space.

For me, the things that I used to post here turned into discussions with my colleagues. I had, at last posting, still been adjusting to my district and a new superintendent. I was fortunate to be able to hire a couple of staff members in my department, and over the course of a couple of years, we really gelled together. We were able to work really well as a team and so a lot of the ideas I would post here, just to help me reflect, ended up becoming conversations within my own department.

I never really received much feedback from this blog. I’m not a prolific writer as some of my Ed Tech colleagues are. But this space served as a place for me to talk about ideas and think through things. When those conversations were taking place in my own office, I didn’t really need this space anymore. So I stopped.

I am now in a new district, with new challenges. A much larger district. A much more structured district. A much more urban district. I have a larger staff, who I’m still getting to know. I have a new boss, which requires a little bit more planning and informing when I want to try things. It’s been a bit of an adjustment, but it has been working out pretty well.

I think the new few things I’m going to write about are going to be not technology related, but geared more toward leadership. After reading through my last post, I realized that I was able to let go, a bit, of the desire to constantly be in the classroom. I’ve take a step further back now in my new district, and I’m trying to be a good leader to this team who is nervous because I’m their third boss in as many years. I know how stressful that can be.

I have now worked in 6 different school districts through my 20 years in Education. I’ve learned a few things from all of the different supervisors I’ve had. I’ve learned some really great things, and I’ve also learned a lot about what not to do as a leader.

So, look for a couple of posts (no, really, I do plan on writing!) on leadership in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And yet… at Web 2.0 and Beyond.

meta

